Posted in crafting, Embellishments, flip book, fussy cutting, Scrapbooking, youtube

To Toss or Not to Toss

So you cracked open a new paper pack.  You assembled the mother of all projects.  You pat yourself on the back because you did dang good.

wp-image-1207021615jpg.jpgThe end result is a pile of pretty big paper scraps.  But the problem is, if you scoop your paper up and put in a box with other scraps, it quickly grows into the big monster in the room that spews out of control, all over your desk, all over your file cabinet and all over the floor.  So what do you do – toss it, or keep it?

Every scrapper goes through this dilemma.   There are many opinions on this subject.  Some people set size limits and toss the smaller pieces; some people save everything; some people toss it all.

I’m not going to lie.  I save a LOT of paper.  This blog post is for the paper hoarders (C’est Moi!)

I thought I would give scrap savers two different ideas for using up those pesky scraps.  After all, every scrap is precious and important.

Idea No. 1:  Cut and punch that stuff up – make embellishments!

I’ve talked about this before.  Use your punches.  Play with shapes.  Don’t be afraid to cut your paper with your scissors, layer and add your own touches!  I used stitching, homemade enamel dots, vellum, and I fussy cut sentiments from an old piece of paper. In the past I’ve dry embossed, heat embossed and stamped my scraps.

Gather your shapes in funky, awesome shapes; glue those pieces of paper together first, then sew it up!

Idea No. 2:  Make a flip book or journal!

This one is fun because it doesn’t take much forethought.  These flip books are great because you can use all different kinds of paper; cut it into different sizes and choose whatever embellishments you have on hand.  Just grab some rings and punch  holes in the paper and put it all together.  Easy McPeasy!

Check out my first YouTube Video that shows off the flip book I made this weekend.  It’s a lame-o video, but it shows the book off!

Remember:  YOU CAN’T SCREW THIS STUFF UP.  If you get frustrated, put it away for a week, then go back to it.  You will be so surprised at the inspiration you gain over a week’s time!

Or… hey, toss it.   Whatevs!  Life is too short to stress about it.  Throwing the paper away doesn’t seem like the best idea to me but it does leave room for all the new paper and new supplies you can buy!

Show me your projects!  Happy Scrapping!!!

Author:

I love paper and scrapbooking and embellishments and paper and DIY and paper - basically anything that allows me to express my creativity. I want to empower all people to create daily!

Leave a comment