Posted in crafting, Embellishments, Embossing, Life, photos, ranger, Scrapbooking, Uncategorized

Scrapbooking on a Dime -Stash Busting and Embossing

The paper pieces pile up in the box, with good intentions.  The crafting product piles up in the cupboard, good ideas forgotten.  Life causes it, and my life has been nuts lately.  So nutty that I have temporarily misplaced my crafting mojo.  My craft room has paid the price for my misgivings.  It’s a dump.

Consequently, I have spent the last two weeks punching circles, butterflies, squares and using my Diamond Press to cut tags, stars, and hearts.  Which leads me to where I was last night.

I was sitting in front of my television, enjoying a television series I recorded in February (The People vs. OJ – way interesting, btw) and found myself punching holes in more scraps.

Then inspiration struck.  I thought Dena… you have a drawer FULL of embossing folders and you haven’t used them in over a year!  Emboss those scraps.  Give them different textures and design, throw them on a sheet of paper and see what happens!

So I grabbed my Sizzix Texture Boutique that had about an inch of dust on it and went to work.  The following pictures show the end product:

Tip:  You know you don’t need a punch to cut circles, squares and ribbons.  Flip that page over and trace your shapes, or just eyeball what you want to cut.

I got a little sassy with the ribbon and decided to use a brayer (which had an inch of dust on it as well) and some white embossing powder to make the raised emboss image pop.  By the way, don’t you just love my sewing?   I did this at 1 am with limited light.  I didn’t care, this girl was on fire.  (Sang in my best Alisha Keys’ voice.)

Emboss patterned paper?  Sure, ok!  Glue it all together.  Use whatever glue you want.  I used an Elmer’s glue stick.  Why make things complicated, right?

I love the little navy blue dot too.  Everything just combined together well.

Lastly, I had this design on a boring white background, so on  a whim, I grabbed some Ranger Distress Ink, and put it to work.  Why not, right?

Oh ya…about the photo.  I didn’t even have this one in mind when I started doing this layout.  The photo of my son trying to do a selfie, before selfies were a selfie (2003) stood out to me as silly, colorful and fun.

 

Other background decorating ideas could include, stamping and embossing a design on the white paper then distress inking over the top of it, or you could handletter a title (I’m working on mastering that.)  My point is, this layout cost me literally nothing.  It didn’t come from a kit.  It actually came from a pile of leftover paper that was heading to the garbage can, had I not been so anal retentive about wanting to recycle whatever use I could out of it.

Don’t be intimidated by all of the gorgeous, professional layouts you see people show on the internet.  Scrapbooking is about fun.  Make it fun first, then see where it goes from there.  Show me your layouts!  I’d love to see.

Author:

I love paper and scrapbooking and embellishments and paper and DIY and paper - basically anything that allows me to express my creativity. I want to empower all people to create daily!

Leave a Reply

