Posted in crafting, Life, memory, Scrapbooking, Uncategorized

My Very First Layout, Ever.

Some time back in 2002- about 13 years ago, my Dad, whom I had just reconnected with sent me a huge box of scrapbooking supplies, I believe it was for my birthday. I was turning the big 3-2.  Up until that point I had always wanted to document my life but was younger, had young kids, this was pre internet blogs and groups and I had no direction. His gift gave me that direction.

Flash forward to 2016 –  My Dad is a good friend of mine, and a close confidant.  I am so happy that I met him at the age of 30, and he has embraced my family, expressed his regret of not being there for me sooner, and life fathershas moved on.  Also…because of him, I am a certifiable craft junkie. I have pages of layouts I’ve made, I’ve made albums for people as gifts, I have piles of printed out photos and old albums full of photos waiting to be scrapped. I have a legacy to leave to my kids (whether they are interested now or not, haha!)

Appropriately enough, this is my very first ever layout. And is perfect for Father’s day! I made this after a hunting trip my husband and kids took together. This page shows how awesome of a dad my husband is to my kids. Who knew that a box of (was it Creative Memories??) stuff sent so many years ago would lead to what I have today. It also shows how artistical (this is now a  word, people…say it with me “artistical”) I have become.

The earlier layouts may seem less skilled, less extravagant, but they are just as important.  I hope anyone reading this takes that with them.  Every memory matters.

Happy Father’s Day to all of the awesome, amazing dads out there!  

Author:

I love paper and scrapbooking and embellishments and paper and DIY and paper - basically anything that allows me to express my creativity. I want to empower all people to create daily!

Leave a Reply

